Watch: How things have or have not changed? Flashback to the 2007 general election in Donegal

Donegal returned 4 Fianna Fail and 2 Fine Gael TDs from two three-seaters

With the countdown on to the 2020 General Election it's interesting to reflect on what happened in the county during the 2007 election.

Certainly some things haven't changed, while others have, which makes for an interesting comparison.

Donegal had two three-seat constituencies then. Mary Coughlan and Pat 'the Cope' Gallagher (both FF) along with Dinny McGinley (FG) in Donegal were elected in Donegal South-West. Sinn Féin's Pearse Doherty was fourth. In Donegal North-East, Dr. James McDaid and Niall Blaney were elected for Fianna Fáil with Fine Gael's Joe McHugh topping the poll and taking the seat previously held by Cecilia Keaveney. Padraig MacLochlainn of Sinn Féin was fourth.

This WallaceMedia extended news feature was compiled after the election.

In the feature you will see the issues facing the public, party conventions, party wranglings, retirements, coming out of retirement, leaders visits, poling day and count day..

IFilmed/Edited/Produced by Shane Wallace, it is narrated by Chris Ashmore.

Interviews/Script by Shane Wallace & Chris Ashmore

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.