01 Oct 2022

McMonagle on fire with 1-10 as St Eunan’s win at Robert Emmets

Lee McMonagle was in sparkling form for St Eunan's in their victory over a young Robert Emmets team in the Junior A Football Championship clash in Castlefin

McMonagle on fire with 1-10  as St Eunan’s  win at Robert Emmets

Lee McMonagle, seen here against Naomh Conaill's Stephen McGrath, was the star performer in St Eunan's win at Robert Emmets

Lee McMonagle stole the show with a jaw-dropping performance for St Eunan’s with their Junior A Championship opener with Robert Emmets on Saturday evening. 

Robert Emmets 0-11
St Eunans 1-14

McMonagle’s goal won the 2012 SFC for the black and amber and he scored a whopping 1-10 in the six-point victory. The full-forward was in devastating form with 1-5 of those scores from play.  

Dylan McNamee kicked four points and was Robert Emmets’ top scorer in what was an all round good performance from a young and inexperienced local starting 15. 

The home side’s line-up included five of last year’s minor team all who had their first outing in a senior championship. 

McMonagle’s goal was the decisive score of the opening half in which the hosts matched the O’Donnell Park men for much of the opening 30 minutes. 

St Eunans led by four points at half-time 1-6 to 0-5 and again Robert Emmets were in the game right to the closing minutes when St Eunan’s added three late points for a somewhat flattering winning margin. 

Robert Emmets scorers: Dylan McNamee 0-4; Dominic McGlinchey and Rory Dalton 0-2 each, Conor McGettigan, Aaron Dalton, Ciaran Dalton 0-1 each.
St Eunans scorers: Lee McMonagle 1-10; Darragh Morrison 0-2; Cormac Finn and Donnahca Devenney 0-1 each.

Robert Emmets: Ronan Kennedy; Dean Hughes, Jordan Tourish, John Doherty; Niall Quinn, Conor Dalton, Brian Lafferty; Aaron Dalton, Rory Dalton;Ciaran Dalton, Neil Mulcahy, Daniel Dalton; Conor McGettigan , Dominic McGlinchey , Dylan McNamee. Subs: John Hunter, Brian Harvey.

St Eunans: BLake Forkan; Gavin McCarron, Ryan Hilferty, Josh Hay; Sean Freeburn, Sean Halvey, Ultan McGuinness; Matthew Gallagher, Cormac Finn; Darragh Morrison, Conal McGinley, Lorcan O’Donnell; Lorcan Harvey, Lee McMonagle, Donnacha Devenney. Subs: Oisin McGarvey for D Devenney; Johnnie Lambe for U McGuinness; Matt Ahearne for L Harvey; Donacha Devenney for L O’Donnell. 

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.