Seamus Coleman back in Republic of Ireland squad for friendly with Turkey

Seamus Coleman back in Republic of Ireland squad for friendly with Turkey

Seamus Coleman . . . back in Irish squad

Martin O'Neill revealed a 30-man provisional squad for the International Friendly between Republic of Ireland and Turkey on Friday, March 23 in Antalya.
Ireland's first game of 2018 will come at the end of a three-day training camp in Antalya and kicks off what will be a busy year with friendly games against United States, France, Poland and Northern Ireland, as well as UEFA Nations League games with Denmark and Wales.
Captain Seamus Coleman returns to the squad a year after suffering injury in a 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Wales, while Greg Cunningham, Alan Judge, and Sean Maguire are also included following long-term injuries.
There are first senior call-ups for goalkeeper Kieran O'Hara, defenders Declan Rice, Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams and Enda Stevens. Both O'Hara and Rice had previously trained with the squad but were never included for a match-day squad.
Also, O'Hara and Rice will report directly to the Ireland Under 21s after the camp finishes in order to be available for the UEFA European Championship qualifier against Azerbaijan on Tuesday, March 27 in Tallaght Stadium.
The squad will meet up ahead of the 3 FAI International Awards on Sunday, March 18 in RTE Studios and depart for Turkey the next morning. After the game on Friday, March 23, the squad will return to Dublin and leave camp.

Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O'Hara (Manchester United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Declan Rice (West Ham United), John Egan (Brentford), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), David Meyler (Hull City), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Liam Kelly (Reading), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Sean Maguire (Preston North End)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.