20 Jan 2022

Donegal Minor Ladies get underway for 2022 with win in Fermanagh

Donegal Minors Ladies get underway for 2022 with win in Fermanagh

Donegal vice captain Ellen Canavan and captain Jenny McGettigan in Belcoo, Co Fermanagh, on Sunday

The Donegal Minor Ladies got their preparations for the Ulster Championship up and running on Sunday when they played Fermanagh in a challenge game in Belcoo.

It was the first outing for Francie Martin’s new squad and comes just weeks before the championship campaign gets up and running on the first weekend in February.

Donegal have been placed in Section A of the Ulster Championship along with Cavan, Tyrone, Monaghan and Antrim with the competition played in a round-robin format.

The dates and venues for matches have yet to be confirmed.

Sunday’s game against Fermanagh offered the Donegal management a chance to run the rule over a number of new faces who have joined the minor panel this season.

After a closely fought first half after which the sides were level at half time, Donegal were much the better side in the second half and ran out comfortable winners.

Donegal will travel to play Sligo in a challenge game this Sunday.

The Donegal squad is: Aoibheann McGarrigle (Aodh Ruadh), Aimee Boyle (Ardara), Chloe McDaid, Bonnie McLaughlin (Buncrana), Caitlin McCann (Burt), Amy Porter (Carndonagh), Codie Walsh (Convoy), Tara Geoghegan (Dungloe), Iseult Ní Mhathúna (Fanad Gaels), Ellen Canavan, Holly Roarty (Four Masters),  Isla Ní Ghallachóir (Gaoth Dobhair), Brenda Carr, Jamie-Lee McMahon (Glenfin), Leah Cunningham (Killybegs), Louise Doherty (Letterkenny Gaels), Abigail Temple-Asokuh, Serena McCrossan (MacCumhaills), Sophie Murphy (Malin), Aine Docherty (Milford), Shannon Leech (Moville), Tara Breslin (Naomh Columba), Aoife Doohan (Naomh Michael), Niamh Harkin (Naomh Padraig, Muff), Aoibheann O’Connell, Aobha Pasoma (Na Dúnaibh), Emma Neeson (Red Hughs), Abbie McGranaghan (Robert Emmets), Sophie McFeely, Clodagh Ní Shíoráin, Hannah Hopkins (St Eunans), Niamh Brown (St Nauls), Jenny McGettigan, Jodie McFadden (Termon), Caoimhe Doherty (Urris).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.