26 Jun 2022

GE2020 - Eighth candidate eliminated in south Donegal Sligo Leitrim

Ninth count now underway at Sligo Park Hotel

James Conway

Independent candidate James Conway. PHOTO Matt Britton

Independent candidate James Conway is the latest to be eliminated in the Sligo count centre.

The result of the eighth count was announced just before 1.00pm. His 1,767 votes are now being distributed.

There is no change to order of the remaining contenders for the last three seats. Marian Harkin (Ind) is now on 8,135; Marc MacSharry (FF) is on 7,602 and Eamon Scanlon (FF) is up to 6,859, having received 398 transfers from eliminated John Perry (Ind). Frank Feighan (FG) is on 5,764. His party colleague Thomas Walsh picked up 302 transfers from John Perry, bringing him to 5,218.

The count continues in the Sligo Park Hotel.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.