08 Oct 2022

New Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach for Municipal District of Donegal

Councillors pay tribute to outgoing Cathaoirleach

New Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach for Municipal District of Donegal

Cllr Niamh Kennedy (Ind) has been elected Cathaoirleach of Donegal MD, with Cllr Tom Conaghan elected Leas Cathaoirleach. PHOTOS: Siobhán McNamara

Cllr Niamh Kennedy (Ind) and Cllr Tom Conaghan (Ind) have been elected to the roles of Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District (MD) and Leas Cathaoirleach respectively.

The new roles took effect from Tuesday, June 14 at the AGM of Donegal MD which took place in the Peter Kennedy Chamber at Donegal Public Services Centre.

Tributes were paid to outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr Barry Sweeny (FG), especially given the challenges of the last year and the transition out of Covid-19 restrictions. 

He was praised for his cooperation and dedication to the MD.

Cllr Sweeny thanked his fellow councillors as well as council officials and staff, saying that much had been achieved despite the challenges of the last year. 

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.