Donegal's Sigerson Cup winners

Donegal's Sigerson Cup winners

Brendan Dunleavy from Sean MacCumhaill’s and a former Donegal player leads the roll of honour in the Donegal winners with four Sigerson Cup winners’ medal. Brendan’s winning years were 1975,’77,’78 and ‘79.

Jim McGuinness is next with three, two with Tralee IT and one with UUJ and Jim also holds the distinction of captaining two Sigerson winning sides with two different Colleges.

Christy Toye is the only other Donegal man to captain a Sigerson winning when he led IT Sligo to the 2005 Sigerson title.

Christy led a long list of double winners which includes John O'Donnell, Antoin Rodgers, Paul Kelly, Brendan Boyle, Paul Durcan, Eamon McGee, Kevin Cassidy, Paul Carr and Michael Boyle.

John O’Donnell from Dungloe was the county’s first Sigerson winner in 1931.

1931 & 1932: John O'Donnell, Dungloe (UCD)

1948/'49: Antoin Rodgers, Gaoth Dobhair (UCD)

1954: Colm Toland, Inishowen (UCD)

1959 & 1961: Paul Kelly, Cloughaneely (UCD)

1961: Bernard Brady, Bundoran (UCD)

1963: John Bonner, Dungloe;

Tony McDevitt, Letterkenny (UCG)

1968: Jim McElwee, Dungloe;

Antoin Carroll, Gaoth Dobhair (UCD)

1975: Brendan Dunleavy, Sean MacCumhaills;

Finian Ward, Naomh Columba (UCD)

Brendan Dunleavy was also a winner

in 1977,'78 and '79.

1983 & 1984: Paul Carr, St Eunan's (UCG)

1992: Sylvester Maguire and

Diarmaid Keon, Aodh Ruadh (UCG)

1998: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Tralee IT)

1999: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Captain);

Eamon Reddan, Muff (Tralee IT)

2000: Paddy Campbell, Naomh Conaill;

Barry Ward, Aodh Ruadh (QUB)

2001: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Captain) (UUJ)

2002: Brendan Boyle, Ardara;

Gareth Blake, Aodh Ruadh (IT Sligo)

2003: Colm McFadden, St Michael’s (UCG)

2004: Paul Durcan, Four Masters;

Neil McGee, Gaoth Dobhair; Eamonn McGee,

Gaoth Dobhair; Kevin Cassidy, Gaoth Dobhair;

Brendan Boyle, Ardara;

Christy Toye, St Michael's (IT Sligo)

2005: Paul Durcan, Four Masters;

Eamon McGee, Gaoth Dobhair;

Christy Toye, St Michael's (Captain);

Michael Doherty, Four Masters;

Donnacha Gallagher, Carndonagh (IT Sligo)

2008: Karl Lacey and

Barry Dunnion, Four Masters (UUJ)

2010: Michael Boyle, Termon (DCU)

2012: Michael Boyle, Termon; Antoin McFadden,

St Michael's; Michael Murphy, Glenswilly (DCU).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.