WATCH: Classic video - action from the 1996 Circuit of Ireland rally

This week’s Motorsport Ireland – RIAC classic video from the RPM Motorsport collection is highlights from the 1996 Circuit of Ireland with commentary from Alan Tyndall and Gary Gillespie.

What the 1996 Circuit of Ireland lacked in quantity in certainly made up for in quality with the winners from the previous three Circuits, Austin McHale, Stephen Finlay and Bertie Fisher in attendance, as well as rising stars like Liam O’Callaghan, Andrew Nesbitt and Ian Greer, all in four wheel drive Group A machinery.

Fisher and Finlay set the pace at the front but Fisher’s event was beset by a number of uncharacteristic errors, the final of which dropped him to fourth place. After four days of rallying it was Finlay who would emerge victorious taking his second win on the event in three years.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.