Donegal lose away to Galway, in Corofin

Despite the defeat Donegal qualify for the league semi-final

Donegal lose away to Galway, in Corofin

Karen Guthrie top scored for Donegal against Galway

Donegal suffered their second successive defeat when going down to Galway in Corofin on Sunday afternoon.

Galway ……… 2-13


Ten points separated Galway and a very much understrength Donegal.  Donegal travelled to Galway without the long term injured Geraldine McLaughllin, Ciara Grant while Katy Herron and All-Star Treasa Doherty were unavailable.

Despite being down numbers and facing into a stiff breeze Donegal started well and thanks to the trusty left boot of Karen Guthrie, they led for much of the first quarter. The girls from the North West were in the contest until Galway goals from the Leonard sisters just before half-time were big turning points.

Galway led 2-8 to 0-6 at half-time and though Donegal more or less matched Galway score for score in the second half they were not able to pull the two goals back.  

“It has been a long time since I have been involved in game where the scoreline did not reflect the game as much this one,” said Donegal manager Maxi Curran afterwards.

“I don't think Galway were a ten point better team than us. They got the goals and we struggled to peg them back.

“We struggled at times but I thought we played some very good football and we kicked some lovely scores and we fought very hard.”

The two sides will meet again in the league semi-final on Easter Sunday while Dublin and Cork will meet in the other semi-final.

DONEGAL: Aoife McColgan; Ann Marie McGiynn, Emer Gallagher, Evelyn McGinley; Niamh Carr, Nicole McLaughlin, Niamh Boyle; Tara Hegarty, Megan Ryan (0-1); Karen Guthrie (0-7,2f), Niamh Hegarty (0-2) , Amie Boyle Carr; Shannon McGroddy, Roisin Friel, Julia Trearty. Subs: Shannon McLaughlin for T Hegarty, Kate McCleneghan for J Trearty,N McDonald for R Friel.

GALWAY: L Murphy; F Cooney, S Lynch, B Hannon (0-1); S Molloy, S Burke, C Cooney; L Ward, L Gannon, O Divilly(0-1), T Leonard (1-3,1f), M Glynn (0-1), R Leonard (1-3,1-0 pen), M Seoighe (0-1), L Coen (0-2). Subs; S Conneally for M Seoighe; O Murphy for C Cooney; R Ni Flaghathta (0-1) for L Coen;  B Murphy for B Hannon; CMcCarthy for M Glynn; A Thompson for R Leonard; A Coen for L Gannon.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.