Shay Given to be honoured tonight as the 40th Donegal Person of the Year

Shay Given to be honoured tonight as the 40th Donegal Person of the Year

Former Ireland goalkeeper Shay Given will be honoured tonight by the Donegal Association in Dublin when he becomes the 40th Donegal Person of the Year.

The Donegal Person of the Year 2017 will be presented to the Lifford man at a gala function in the Ballsbridge Hotel, with hundreds of people attending what promises to be a memorable night.

Shay, who is making great strides at the moment as an analyst on all the big soccer games on tv, is the second former Ireland keeper to receive the award, another Donegal legend Packie Bonner, was honoured with the 1990 award. Sports stars and those involved in sport have featured regularly over the years as winners which also includes people who have made wonderful contributions to the arts, community and much more.

Stephen McCahill from Ardara hands over the mantle of person of the year having served wonderfully for more than a year now.

The gala night was cancelled due to bad weather in March and this year sees the event moved to a new venue in Ballsbridge.

On the night, as well as the usual pomp and ceremony as the recipient is piped in, there will be a chance to meet and greet from 6.30pm where a Wine & Gin recption will be held. There will be two special prizes awarded for the best dressed lady and the most dapper gent.

The Donegal Association in Dublin are advising people attending the function to be aware that there are some parking restrictions in the Ballsbridge area on Saturday night, so a check on AA route planner and perhaps giving yourself a bit of extra time to sort parking is advised. An added complication is the fact that Leinster play Scarlets in the Aviva on Saturday at 3.30pm, so expect traffic to be heavy. Securing a parking  space near the hotel would need to be planned in advance. 

Past Recipients of the Donegal Persons of the Year:

2017 - Shay Given

2016 - Stephen McCahill

2015 - Deirdre McGlone

2014 - Moya Doherty

2013 - Liam Ó Cuinneagáin

2012 - Jim McGuinness

2011 - Hugh Green & Ann MarieWard

2010 - Brian Friel

2009 - Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh

2008 - Joe Mulholland

2007 - John Carr

2006 - Margo O'Donnell

2005 - Michael O'Donnell

2004 - Fr Michael Sweeney

2003 - Jim McGettigan

2002 - Brid Rogers

2001- Patsy McGonagle

2000 - Sir Gerry Robinson

1999 - Joey Murrin

1998 - Paddy Harte

1997 - Sean McGinley

1996 - Hugh Gallagher

1995 - Sean McEniff

1994 - Seán Ó hEochaidh

1993 - Charlie Bennett

1992 - Brian McEniff

1991 - Tomás Mac Fhionnghaile

1990 - Packie Bonner

1989 - Daniel O'Donnell

1988 - Fergus Cleary

1987 - Eamonn Doherty

1986 - Danny McDaid

1985 - Peter McLean

1984 - Cannon Tommy Doherty

1983 - Willie Joe Cunningham

1982 - Áine Ní Ghiolla Bhríde

1981 - Donal K O'Boyle

1980 - DermotWalsh

1979 - Larry Smith

1978 - Fr. James McDyer

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.