St. Eunan's College sweep into Loch an Iúir final

Impressive semi-final win for Donegal school

St. Eunan's College sweep into Loch an Iúir final

St. Eunan's College U-14 1/2 pictured before Thursday's semi-final.

St. Eunan’s College are into the final of the Loch an Iúir competition following Thursday's excellent win over St. Malachy's of Castlewellen.

St. Eunan’s College 4-7

St. Malachy’s, Castlewellen 1-9

The Letterkenny school, under manager Gary McDaid and Eddie Harvey (Assistant manager) emerged with a great victory over the highly fancied St. Malachy’s who were averaging scores of 6 - 19 in every game.

St. Eunan’s are determined to put their name on the cup again but it will take another big game against Patrician College, Carrickmacross, in the final. The  Monaghan school's senior team are back in the MacRory competition this year.
St. Eunan’s were leading 2-2 to 1-3 at half-time with goals by Keelan Collier and Shane Monaghan.

Callum Friel and Emmett O'Boyle (St. Eunan’s) were a constant threat up front scoring some fine points. The defence held firm against a constant attack with Sean Collum, Oisin McDaid and captain Oran Brogan in control. Keelan Gribben, the St. Eunan’s College goalkeeper, had another great game, commanding his area and his kick-outs were very accurate.

Another goal by Shane Monaghan put his team 3-3 to 1-4 in front but back came St. Malachy’s to reduce the deficit to 3-3 to 1-8.

However, Keelan Collier scored his second goal of the game and Oran Brogan, playing in the centre of defence, scored a great point to seal the win for St. Eunan’s.
St. Eunan's College: Killian Gribben; Sean Collum, Oran Brogan (0-1)), Oisin Mc Daid; Noel O’ Donnell, Conall Mc Dermott, Cian Mc Monagle; Jack Gallagher, Jack Alcorn; Matthew Whoriskey, Keelan Collier (2–2), Jack Roarty; Emmet O’Boyle (0-1), Callum Friel (0-2), Shane Monaghan (2 -1).

Subs. Sean Mc Veigh (53), Seimi Breslin (50), Peadar Mc Geehan, Joshua Hay (55), Calvin Adoo, Conor Hughes, Conor Cassidy (56), Sean Pascal, Ben Gallagher (51), Adam Duncan (55), Jake Kelly, Nathan Plumb, Ciaran Quinn, Sean McGinley, Sean Marsh, Adam Callaghan, Danny Toye.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.