Donegal Sports Star Awards to hold its AGM later this month

Donegal Sports Star Awards to hold its AGM later this month

Donegal Sports Star Awards

The Donegal Sports Star Awards committee will hold their Annual General Meeting on Monday, September 20 at 6pm in the Mount Errigal Hotel.

Plans for the 46th Awards will formally commence after the AGM. For the first time since the Donegal Sports Star Awards started in 1976 the event was held virtually last January. 

Jockey Oisin Orr was the overall winner and the Rathmullan man also scooped the Professional Sport Achievement Award on the night.

The other winners at the Donegal County Council sponsored virtual awards were:

Team Award: Clonmany ‘B’ Tug-of-war team

Primary School Award: St Bernadette’s Special School, Letterkenny

Secondary School Award: St Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Hall of Fame Award: Patsy McGowan (Finn Harps)

Coach/Manager Award: Kevin McLaughlin (Clonmany B Tug-of-war team)

Brendan McDaid Memorial Special Achievement Award: Siobhan Coyle (Gaeil Fhánada)

International Achievement Award: Rhys Irwin

Special Recognition Award: Mickey McCann (Donegal hurlers)

Appreciation Award: Danny McGonigle (Clonmany)

Youth Award: Adrienne Gallen (Lifford/Strabane AC)

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.