Impressive Glenswilly come from behind to defeat Termon

County champions secure Division One safety; Termon are relegated

Impressive Glenswilly come from behind to defeat Termon

Neil Gallagher, helped Glenswilly to victory over Termon.

Glenswilly got over a sluggish start to come from behind and beat Termon on Sunday, and in the process secure Division One safety for another season.

Glenswilly 2-7

Termon 0-10

It was another impressive performance from Michael Canning’s charges who knew that a victory would be enough to avoid relegation.

Clapped onto the pitch by their opponents before the game, the new county champions had just too much for Termon, winning by three points at the finish.

Without Cormac Callaghan, Michael Murphy and Ryan Diver from the the Donegal Senior Final, Glenswilly took a long while to get going.

Indeed Termon, in desperate need of the points themselves, cruised into a 0-5 to 0-0 lead after only 12 minutes. The excellent Enda McCormick, Johnny McCafferty and Daire McDaid were among their early scorers.

Glenswilly’s Oisin Crawford kicked his team’s opening score on 14, and then Christopher McMonagle palmed to the net following a wonderful flowing move, to reduce the deficit to just a point.

By half time, the sides were level, 1-3 to 0-6 and it was nip and tuck in the early stages of the second half with some fine scores from both teams.

With the sides still level, the big moment arrived on 52 minutes when a Gary McFadden free fell short and as a number of players went for the dropping ball, substitute Caoimhin Marley got there first to fist to the net.

Gary McFadden knocked over the insurance point from a free soon after and while Ricky Gallagher kicked a late point for Termon, there wasn’t enough time for them to muster an equalising score.

It means Termon, for all their effort this season, are relegated along with Ardara.

GLENSWILLY: James Gallagher; Paddy McFadden, Eamonn Ward, Aidan McDevitt; Ciaran Gibbons, Leon Kelly (0-1), Joe Gibbons; Neil Gallagher, Caolan Kelly; Oisin Crawford (0-1), Cathal Gallagher, Gary McFadden (0-2, 1f); Keelan McFadden (0-1), Christopher McMonagle (1-1), Brian Farrelly (0-1).

Subs: Caoimhin Marley (1-0) for Crawford 41, Ciaran Bonner for K McFadden 46, Darren McGinley for McMonagle 52, Sean Burke for C Gibbons 56, Ethan Sweeney for Farrelly 59, Patrick Boyle for L Kelly 61.

TERMON: Michael Boyle; Kevin McElwaine, Kevin McDaid, Christy Conaghan (0-1, f); Ricky Gallagher (0-1), Caolan McDaid (0-2, 1f), James McSharry; Jimmy Gallagher (0-1), Enda McCormick (0-1); Austin Marren, Anthony McGrenra, Nathan McElwaine; Paddy McDaid, Daire McDaid (0-3, 2f), Johnny McCafferty (0-1).

Sub: Fintan O’Flynn for N McElwaine 49.

REFEREE: Jimmy White (Killybegs).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.