Second half goals enough to see Naomh Columba overcome Naomh Brid in Glen

Second half goals enough to see Naomh Columba overcome Naomh Brid in Glen

Aaron Doherty - 1-4 for N Columba v Naomh Brid

Naomh Columba produced their best display of the year to ease to a comprehensive victory over Naomh Brid in Pairc na nGael.

Naomh Columba 2-13
Naomh Brid 1-7

The winners led by 0-8 to 0-3 at half-time but there were a few scares in that opening half as Naomh Brid had three gilt edged goal chances playing into the dressing room goals.
It was an eventful day for Christopher Cook Byrne (playing against his Gallagher cousins), who hit the first two points from forward marks; added a goal in the second half and then saw red after picking up a second yellow card.
Apart from Christopher's points, Naomh Columba's other first half scores came from Aaron Doherty, Fionn Gallagher (2), David O'Donnell and two from Ryan Gillespie.
Callum Gallagher and the Brogan brothers Darragh and Ryan accounted for the Naomh Brid first half scores.
The game took another twist after the break with Naomh Brid getting a goal from Darragh Brogan after a great run from Ross Gallagher.
And from the kick-out Eoin Rush was through only to be thwarted by Gerry McGill. The ball was transfered quickly upfield for Christopher Byrne to bury to the net for a six point swing.
From there to the finish Naomh Columba had a tight grip on the game and the second goal ended the game as a contest. It came after Pauric Ward and Ryan Gillespie combined with Ward's shot being saved but it rebounded to Aaron Doherty to fire home.
Naomh Columba ended the game with 13 men as apart from losing Christopher Byrne, David O'Donnell also picked up a second yellow and red.

NAOMH COLUMBA: Gerry McGill; Kieran McBrearty, Philip Doherty, Barry Carr; Pauric Ward, Michael Maguire, David O'Donnell (0-1); Fionn Gallagher (0-2), Padraig Byrne; Declan McGuire, Aaron Doherty (1-4,3f), Ronan Gillespie; Ryan Gillespie (0-3,1f), Christopher Byrne (1-2,2fms), Lanty Molloy (0-1). Subs: Philip McNern for K McBrearty; Ryan McNern for Lanty Molloy.

NAOMH BRID: Pauric McDaid; Sean Gormley, Ross Gallagher, Jamie Timoney; Eoin McGarrigle, Sam Burgess, Ryan O'Leary; Callum Gallagher (0-1), Declan McCafferty; Eoin Rush (0-3), Darragh Brogan (1-1), Liam Duffy, Ryan Brogan (0-1), Gary McCafferty, Eoin Quinn. Subs: Shane Walsh (0-1) for G McCafferty; Paul Diver for O'Leary.

REFEREE: Jimmy White (Killybegs)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.