26 Jun 2022

GE2020 - Fourth candidate eliminated in south Donegal Sligo Leitrim

Fifth count now underway in Sligo Park Hotel count centre

GE2020 - Fourth candidate eliminated in south Donegal Sligo Leitrim

A fourth candidate has been eliminated in the Sligo Leitrim constituency which takes in south Donegal.

National Party candidate Paul McWeeney was eliminated on the fourth count. His 553 votes are being distributed.

Marian Harkin (Ind) still looks set to take the next seat. On 7,524 votes, she is edging slowing towards the quota of 12,137.

Marc MacSharry (FF) is still hot on her heels on 7,238 followed by Eamon Scanlon (FF) on 6,370; Frank Feighan (FG) on 5,471 and Thomas Walsh (FG) on 4,818.

The fifth count results are expected shortly.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.