Bonagee battle back to get the better of Swilly Rovers


Bonagee battle back to get the better of Swilly Rovers
Diarmaid Doherty @dgldemocrat

An impressive second half performance helped Bonagee United to victory in Saturday evening's U14 Champions League final at Leckview Park.

Bonagee United 5

Swilly Rovers 2

In a thoroughly enjoyable encounter, Swilly Rovers certainly made life difficult for the Letterkenny club, especially after taking an early lead.

But credit to Bonagee, they managed to draw level shortly after half time.

They then hit three goals in the space of four minutes in a blistering spell to kill off Swilly's brave resistence.

Bonagee were favourites going into this final, having comfortably beaten Letterkenny Rovers over two legs in their semi-final.

However, they were behind on 17 minutes when Swilly's best player, Frankie Campbell, set up Matthew McLaughlin in front of goal and the midfielder took his time before placing his shot into the net.

Swilly were very well organised, especially in defence, and that meant Bonagee managed only a handful of efforts on goal with Jack McCullagh firing a shot just over before half time.

But Bonagee started the second half well and the impressive Jack Murphy fired them level with a wonderful effort from outside the box.

It was just what Bonagee needed and they would enjoy a spell of dominance with David Smith and Ronan McKinley both going close.

McKinley eventually gave his team a 2-1 lead with 14 minutes to go with a brilliant individual effort which was the goal of the game.

Two minutes later, Adam Murphy made it 3-1 before Finnian O'Donnell added a fourth.

Both teams were reduced to ten men when Rory Pyper (Swilly) and Jack Murphy (Bonagee) were sent off following a needless clash.

Swilly's Kyle McMullen pulled a goal back from a wonderful free kick but McKinley, one of Bonagee's best players, had the final say with the fifth and final goal at the finish.

Bonagee Utd.: Adrian McLaughlin, Ronan McKinley, Josh McCullagh, David Smith, Eoin Dowling, Dylan Woods, Adam Murphy, Kieran Tobin, Finnian O'Donnell, Jack Murphy, Kelan Collier. Subs used: Ciaran Gallagher, Ben Gallgher.

Swilly Rovers: Kyle Burns, Mark Cannon, Darragh McFadden, Kyle McMullen, Tony Gallagher, Oran Brogan, Michael Murray, Matthew McLaughlin, Frankie Campbell, Rory Pyper, Eoin Logue. Subs used: Conor Doohan, Jack McAuley, Oisin Coyle, Tyler Durning.

Referee: Vincent McLaughlin.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.