McFadden goals for St Michael’s enough to sink Glenswilly at The Bridge

McFadden goals for St Michael’s enough to sink Glenswilly at The Bridge

Michael Langan . . . scored opening goal but went off injured in second half

St Michael’s got their championship campaign with a six point  win over Glenswilly at the Bridge in Dunfanaghy.

St Michaels ……….. 3-5 


Michael Langan and Colin McFadden scored the goals in what was a scrappy encounter on a night St Michaels posted 14 wides and lost Langan to injury early in the second half. 

It was all square at half-time after Glenswilly fought back from an early St Michael's goal.

Michael Langan struck for St Michael’s goal inside ten seconds after the county man won the throw-in and raced through the  Glenswilly defence to give Frank Carberry no chance from inside the rectangle.

Despite  the early goal, 18 minutes passed before they scored again as they posted six bad wides and dropped a number of balls short.

Glenswilly, though living on scraps, clawed their way back into the game with a fine point from play from Kealan Dunleavy and a Michael Murphy free; Colm McFadden curled over the locals' opening point on 18 minutes for a two point lead.

With St Michael’s struggling in front of the posts Glenswilly grew in confidence and Michael Murphy, Caoimhinn Marley and Jack Gallagher scored for Glenswilly to one for Colin McFadden to send the sides in level -  St Michael’s 1-2, Glenswilly 0-5.

Carlos O’Reilly edged the locals back in front eight minutes into the second period before Oisin Cannon denied Murphy from the penalty spot. The penalty was awarded when Shaun Wogan was grounded as he bore down on the posts.

With Martin Breslin replacing the injured Michael Langan,  Gary McFadden made it a one point game 1-4 to 0-6.

But that was close as the men from the Glen got. Colin McFadden struck for two more goals in the closing ten minutes to close out the game.  

ST MICHAELS: Oisin Cannon; Jamie Hunter, Liam Paul Ferry, Ruairi Friel; Stephen Doak, Antoin McFadden, Michael Gallagher; Kyle McGarvey, Michael Langan (1-0); Colin McFadden (2-0), Christy Toye, Ciaran Gallagher; Martin McElhinney, Colm McFadden (0-4,3f), Carlos O’Reilly (0-1). Subs: Michael Cannon for M Gallagher 28, Martin Breslin for M  Langan 36.

GLENSWILLY: Frank Carberry; Ruairi Crawford, Eamonn Ward, Mark McAteer; Jack Gallagher (0-1), Cormac Callaghan, Keelan Carberry; Leon Kelly, Shaun Wogan; Caoimhinn Marley (0-1), Gary McFadden (0-1,f), Kealan Dunleavy (0-2); Caolan Kelly, Michael Murphy (0-3,3f), Conor McGinty. Subs: Shane McDaid for K Carberry (half-time), Ciaran Gibbons and Kyle Canning for McGinty and L Kelly 52.

REFEREE:  Seamus McGonigle (Aodh Ruadh)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.